Image de Eyelit Studio

Agroecological transitions in Africa: the conditions for success

 

 

 

9:00 am - 9:15 am

Presentation of the Summit

Speakers:

  • Elisabeth Claverie de Saint Martin (President - CEO Cirad)

  • Anne-Lucie Wack (General Director of Institut Agro)

9:15 - 9:30

  • Nadine Andrieu (Cirad)

9:45 - 11:00

SESSION 1

Training / capacity building / training differently (market place)

1 - Focus Agricultural advisory systems

  • Patrice Djamen , Cirad, UMR Innovation

  • Teatske Bakker (CIRAD)

2 - Focus Agricultural and rural training systems: 

Speakers:

  • Khalid Belarbi (IRC - Institut Agro)

  • Abdoulaye Yéyé (FAR network)

  • Pierre Blaise Ango (FAR and AFOP network)

  • Diégane Diouf , Professor at Siné Saloum El Hadj Ibrahima Niass University (USSEIN)

3- Focus Higher education system:

Speakers:

  • Stéphane de Tourdonnet (Agro Institute),

  • Diégane Diouf (USSEIN)

11:30 am - 3:00 pm

SESSION 2

Co-production of useful knowledge for action (videos, round table, testimonials)

 

11:00 am -11:05 am 

Introduction of the session with Ahmadou Sow (Cirad)


11:05 am - 11:30 am 

Emblematic cases of co-construction of agroecological solutions
innovative
(broadcast of 3 videos)
• Anti-insect nets for the protection of small vegetable crops
producers
• Agroecology in Senegal
• Agroecology in the Maghreb


11:30 am-12:30pm

Action research with farmers, in the context of farms
agriculture with their constraints (
risks, cash flow, working time, etc.)

Host: Amar Imache

Speakers:

  • Emmanuel Sekloka (IRC Benin)

  • Lalaina Ranaivoson (FOFIFA)

  • Anne Périnelle (CIRAD)

  • Tatiana Wade (IRD)

  • Ahmadou Sow (CIRAD)

14:00 - 15:00

Agroecology, a growing place in CGIAR's work in Africa

Presentation of the CGIAR initiative on agroecology in Africa

Speaker:

Marcela Quintero (Alliance) - in English

Presentation of the Viability project funded by the French Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs 

Speaker: Bori Wolde (IMWI) - in English  

 

Presentation: “When does diversifying farming systems benefit both biodiversity and yields? Evidence from Africa ” 

Speakers: Sarah Jones (Alliance) - in English

All conferences can be accessed remotely (after registration)

The experts

Amar Imache.jpg

Amar Imache, moderator

An agronomist by training, Amar Imache has been working since 2009 in a cooperative company specializing in consultation engineering with multidisciplinary research teams. It works to create bridges between research and society through the design and implementation of participatory approaches.

Image de Meiying Ng

Anne-Cécile Bras,
round table moderator

Journalist for 20 years, Anne-Cécile Bras has hosted since 2009 “C'est pas du vent! », The RFI environment program. 50 minutes twice a week to decipher with guests and reports how humanity takes up its greatest challenge: learning to live harmoniously on a planet with limited resources.

Patrice Djamen.png

Patrice Djamen

Patrice Djamen is a researcher at CIRAD within UMR Innovation. Its work focuses on the renewal of agricultural advice to facilitate agroecological transitions. He participates in the piloting of the African Forum for Agricultural Advisory Services (AFAAS) and the Global Forum for Rural Advisory Services (GFRAS)

Diégane Diouf.jpg

Diégane Diouf

Diégane Diouf is a professor at Siné Saloum El Hadj Ibrahima Niass University (USSEIN). His research focuses on agroecology, biodiversity and environmental microbiology, in particular for the analysis of the effects of environmental stresses on crops in Senegal.

Anne Périnelle.jpg

Anne Perinelle

Holder of a doctorate in agronomy, Anne Périnelle is an agronomist researcher specializing in the co-design of sustainable cropping systems, and more particularly rice systems, at the Aïda UPR of CIRAD. In 2021, she defends her thesis on “Co-design of innovative cropping systems with two village communities in Burkina Faso, articulation between tracking innovations, participatory prototyping and peasant experiments”. Since 2017, Anne has been part of the IDEAS network working on design and innovations in agricultural and food systems, a multidisciplinary network that was created at the initiative of INRAE and AgroParisTech in 2016.

Emmanuel Sekloka.png

Emmanuel Sekloka

Emmanuel SEKLOKA is an agricultural engineer (University of Abomey Calavi) and a doctorate in agricultural sciences (Agro-Campus Rennes). He heads the Beninese Cotton Research Institute (IRC) while teaching genetics and plant breeding at the University of Parakou. He coordinates the Research Development component of the project on Agroecological Transition in the Cotton Zone in Benin (TAZCO-2) and is involved in several projects such as “Fertipro”, “C4 Brazil + Togo” and “One Health”. His research work focuses on cotton and fonio, the refinement of selection strategies and genotype x environment interactions.

Ahmadou SOW.jpg

Ahmadou Sow

Ahmadou Sow is a doctor in ecology. He is interested in the tri-trophic interactions (pests-parasitoids-predators) between arthropod and vertebrate species, but also in the elements of the landscape which make it possible to reduce the incidence of pests and the associated yield losses, by strengthening the processes of regulation by natural enemies. He is a post-doctoral fellow at CIRAD within the Aïda unit, funded by the MOPGA program (Campus France) on a research project on the development of innovative agroecological approaches for the sustainable management of crop pests in a context change in the context of the FAIR-Sahel project in Senegal.

He also participates in the teaching and supervision of students from Senegalese (UCAD, Dakar) and international (University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland) schools and universities.

Researchgate: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Ahmadou-Sow

Web of Science ResearcherID: AAH-2354-2020

Tatiana Wade.jpg

Tatiana wade

Tatiana Krasova Wade, Doctor in plant biology since 2003, scientific project manager at IRD (UMR 113 LSTM) at the Joint Microbiology Laboratory IRD-ISRA-UCAD (LCM) carries out its research activities in Senegal on improving the agricultural productivity through inoculation of plants with symbiotic microorganisms. It is involved in a societal project to promote agricultural symbiosis for the establishment in Senegal of the local multi-partner sector for the production and distribution of microbial fertilizers under quality control (Fil'Inoc).

Image de Eyelit Studio

Transitions agroécologiques en Afrique : les conditions du succès

Pour assister en direct aux tables rondes, suivre ce lien (bientôt actif)

9:00 - 9h15

Présentation du Sommet

Intervenants :

  • Elisabeth Claverie de Saint Martin (Présidente - Directrice Générale Cirad)

  • Anne-Lucie Wack (Directrice Générale Institut Agro)

9:15 - 9:30

  • Nadine Andrieu (Cirad)

9:45 - 11:00

SESSION 1

Formation / renforcements de capacités / former autrement (market place)

1 - Focus Dispositifs de conseil agricole

  • Patrice Djamen, Cirad, UMR Innovation

  • Teatske Bakker (Cirad)

2 - Focus Dispositifs de formation agricole et rurale : 

Intervenants :

  • Khalid Belarbi (IRC - Institut Agro)

  • Abdoulaye Yéyé (réseau FAR)

  • Pierre Blaise Ango (réseau FAR et AFOP)

  • Diégane Diouf, Professeur à l’Université Siné Saloum El Hadj Ibrahima Niass (USSEIN)

3- Focus Dispositif enseignement supérieur :

Intervenants :

  • Stéphane de Tourdonnet (Institut Agro),

  • Diégane Diouf (USSEIN)

11:30 - 15:00

SESSION 2

Co-Production de connaissances utiles pour l’action (videos, table ronde, témoignages)

 

11:00 -11h05 

Introduction de la session avec Ahmadou Sow (Cirad)


11h05- 11h30 

Cas emblématiques de co-construction de solutions agroécologiques
innovantes
(diffusion de 3 vidéos)
• Filets anti-insectes pour la protection des cultures maraîchères des petits
producteurs
• Agroécologie au Sénégal
• Agroécologie au Maghreb


11h30-12h30

Recherche-action avec les paysans, dans le contexte des exploitations
agricoles avec leurs contraintes (
risques, trésorerie, temps de travail, etc.)

Animateur : Amar Imache

Intervenants:

  • Emmanuel Sekloka (IRC Bénin)

  • Lalaina Ranaivoson (FOFIFA)

  • Anne Périnelle (Cirad)

  • Tatiana Wade (IRD)

  • Ahmadou Sow (Cirad)

14:00 - 15:00

L’agroécologie, une place croissante dans les travaux du CGIAR en Afrique

Présentation de l’initiative CGIAR sur l’agroécologie en Afrique

Intervenant :

Marcela Quintero (Alliance) – en anglais

Présentation du projet Viability financé par le Ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires Etrangères 

Intervenant : Bori Wolde (IMWI) – en anglais 

 

Présentation : « When does diversifying farming systems benefit both biodiversity and yields ? Evidence from Africa » 

Intervenants : Sarah Jones (Alliance) – en anglais

Toutes les conférences sont accessibles à distance (après inscription)

Les experts

Amar Imache.jpg

Amar Imache, modérateur

Amar Imache est agronome de formation et docteur en sciences de l’eau (AgroParisTech). Il travaille depuis 2009 au sein d’une société coopérative basée à Montpellier (Lisode : Lien Social et Décision), spécialisée dans l’ingénierie de la concertation. Il œuvre pour créer des passerelles entre le monde de la recherche et la société au sens large.

Image de Meiying Ng

Anne-Cécile Bras,
animatrice des tables rondes

Journaliste depuis 20 ans, Anne-Cécile Bras anime depuis 2009 « C'est pas du vent ! », l'émission environnement de RFI. 50 minutes deux fois par semaine pour décrypter avec invités et reportages comment l'humanité relève son plus grand défi : apprendre à vivre harmonieusement sur une planète aux ressources limitées.

Patrice Djamen.png

Patrice Djamen

Patrice Djamen est chercheur au Cirad au sein de l’UMR Innovation. Ses travaux portent sur le renouvellement du conseil agricole pour faciliter les transitions agroécologiques. Il participe au pilotage du Forum africain des services de conseil agricole (AFAAS) et du Forum mondial pour le conseil rural (GFRAS)

Diégane Diouf.jpg

Diégane Diouf

Diégane Diouf est professeur à l’Université Siné Saloum El Hadj Ibrahima Niass (USSEIN). Ses recherches portent sur l’agroécologie, la biodiversité et la microbiologie environnementale, en particulier pour l’analyse des effets des stress environnementaux sur les cultures au Sénégal.

Anne Périnelle.jpg

Anne Périnelle

Titulaire d’un doctorat en agronomie, Anne Périnelle est chercheure agronome spécialiste de la co-conception de systèmes de culture durables, et plus particulièrement de systèmes rizicoles, à l’UPR Aïda du CIRAD. En 2021, elle défend sa thèse sur la « Co-conception de systèmes de culture innovants avec deux communautés villageoises du Burkina Faso, articulation entre traque aux innovations, prototypages participatifs et expérimentations paysannes ». Depuis 2017, Anne fait partie du réseau IDEAS travaillant sur la conception et les innovations dans les systèmes agricoles et alimentaires, réseau pluridisciplinaire qui a été créé à l’initiative de l’INRAE et d’AgroParisTech en 2016.

Emmanuel Sekloka

Emmanuel SEKLOKA est ingénieur agronome (Université d’Abomey Calavi) et docteur en sciences agronomiques (Agro-Campus Rennes). Il dirige l’Institut béninois de Recherche sur le Coton (IRC) tout en enseignant la génétique et l’amélioration des plantes à l’Université de Parakou. Il coordonne la composante Recherche Développement du projet sur la Transition Agroécologique en Zone Cotonnière au Bénin (TAZCO-2) et est impliqué dans plusieurs projets tels que « Fertipro », « C4 Brésil + Togo » et « One Health ». Ses travaux de recherche portent essentiellement sur le coton et le fonio, l’affinement des stratégies de sélection et les interactions génotype x environnement.

Ahmadou SOW.jpg

Ahmadou Sow

Ahmadou Sow est docteur en écologie. Il s’intéresse aux interactions tri-trophiques (ravageurs-parasitoïdes-prédateurs) entres espèces arthropodes et vertébrés, mais également aux éléments du paysage qui permettent de réduire l'incidence des ravageurs et les pertes de rendement associées, par le renforcement des processus de régulation par les ennemis naturels. Il est en post-doctorat au Cirad au sein de l’unité Aïda, financé par le programme MOPGA (Campus France) sur un projet de recherche portant sur le développement d’approches agroécologiques innovantes pour la gestion durable des ravageurs des cultures dans un contexte de changement climatique dans le cadre du projet FAIR-Sahel au Sénégal.

Il participe également à l’enseignement et à l’encadrement d’étudiants issus des écoles et universités sénégalaises (UCAD, Dakar) et internationales (Université de Neuchâtel, Suisse).

Researchgate: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Ahmadou-Sow

Web of Science ResearcherID : AAH-2354-2020

Tatiana Wade.jpg

Tatiana Wade

Tatiana Krasova Wade, Docteur en biologie végétale depuis 2003, chargée de projet scientifique à l’IRD (UMR 113 LSTM) au Laboratoire Commun de Microbiologie IRD-ISRA-UCAD (LCM) mène ses activités de recherche au Sénégal sur l’amélioration de la productivité agricole via l’inoculation des plantes avec des microorganismes symbiotiques. Elle s’investit dans un projet sociétal de valorisation des symbioses agricoles pour la mise en place au Sénégal de la filière locale multipartenaire de production et de distribution de fertilisants microbiens sous contrôle qualité (Fil’Inoc).