NSP Technologies Program
Soon online

Thanks to its geographical location close to the Mediterranean Sea and its history at the University of Montpellier, the research and training organizations associated with the iSite MUSE and the incubation and innovation systems involving companies have always "looked towards the South ”and in particular towards Africa. Strong partnerships have been built on this basis in many academic fields and technology applications.
We have deliberately oriented this thematic animation towards focal points linking the University of Montpellier and its African and French partners in the field of frugal technologies to care for, nourish and protect. Within the framework of these 2 days we will have "the head in the stars", but also "the feet on the ground".  

  Head in the stars ”: The space sector has become highly strategic for many African states wishing to acquire their own space capacity for water resources monitoring applications, deforestation, illegal fishing or for assistance to agriculture. Rather than the purchase of turnkey space systems, the desire of many governments is to acquire their own competence by training the managers and technicians of their future agencies. These training courses lead to the construction and launch of nanosatellites, a field in which the University of Montpellier has developed internationally recognized expertise. We will discuss the possible partnerships and we will explore the different possibilities of cooperation.  

"Feet on the ground": The role played by space and remote sensing is complementary to other sensors and systems that are developed in rural areas and cities, on the ground or in proximity sensing, leading to decision support applications in agriculture, environment and health.


These technologies are at the service of human populations, their economic activities and the environment to sustainably improve the functioning of farms and agricultural sectors, health care systems and prevent climatic and health risks.


In agriculture, the Convergences Institute in Digital Agriculture #DigitAg brings together more than 570 experts from 16 public and private partners and 29 research units covering the research, training, innovation continuum and developing a partnership with Africa. #DigitAg is a player in the MUSE ecosystem and implements interdisciplinary research between agricultural sciences, engineering sciences (computer science, mathematics, electronics, physics), social and management sciences (economics, sociology, management).
Regarding health, whether global, environmental or in interaction with the environment through human and animal diseases (tropical diseases, neglected diseases, zoonoses, vector-borne diseases), Montpellier is a recognized place for its research in CHU or in the Dedicated research institutions (INSERM, IRD) or with a transversal vocation (ISDM-UM, Cirad, INRAE), most of which have a strong activity in the South, particularly in Africa. We will discuss the development of existing partnerships and exchanges in research, training and innovation.

All conferencescan be accessed remotely

Image de NASA

October 4 9:00 am-12: 00 pm
head in the stars
What infrastructures to build responsible digital technologies?

Nanosatellites:

- Technologies and Missions

- Technologies for earth observation: satellite imagery, drones and geospatial data for environmental and agricultural management

(duration 2h00)

The challenges of training for space

(duration 1 hour)

Image de Rowan Simpson

October 5 9:00 am-12: 00 pm
Feet on the ground
What technologies to feed, care for, protect?

 

Frugal technologies on the farm and Logistical and economic intelligence of the agricultural / food sectors (duration 1h30)

Climate and health risk management for the benefit of human and animal populations 

(duration1h30)

Grâce à sa situation géographique proche de la Mer Méditerranée et son historique l’Université de Montpellier, les organismes de recherche et de formation associés dans l’iSite MUSE et les systèmes d’incubation et d’innovation associant les entreprises ont toujours « regardé vers le Sud » et en particulier vers l’Afrique. Des partenariats forts se sont construits sur cette base dans de nombreux domaines académiques et applicatifs des technologies.
Nous avons volontairement orienté cette animation thématique vers des points de focalisation liant l’Université de Montpellier et ses partenaires africains et français dans le domaine des technologies frugales pour soigner, nourrir et protéger. Dans le cadre de ces 2 journées nous aurons « la tête dans les étoiles », mais aussi « les pieds sur terre ». 

 La tête dans les étoiles » : Le domaine du spatial est devenu hautement stratégique pour de nombreux états africains qui souhaitent se doter d’une capacité spatiale propre pour des applications de surveillance des ressources en eau, de la déforestation, de la pêche illégale ou pour l’assistance à l’agriculture. Plutôt que l’achat de systèmes spatiaux clé en main, la volonté de nombreux gouvernements est d’acquérir une compétence propre en formant les cadres et les techniciens de leurs futures agences. Ces formations débouchent sur la construction et le lancement de nanosatellites, domaine dans lequel l’Université de Montpellier a développé un savoir-faire reconnu internationalement. Nous évoquerons les partenariats possibles et nous explorerons les différentes possibilités de coopération. 

« Les pieds sur terre » : Le rôle que joue le spatial et la télédétection est complémentaire d’autres capteurs et systèmes qui sont développés en zone rurale et en ville, au sol ou en proxidétection aboutissant à des applicatifs d’aide à la décision en agriculture, en environnement et en santé.


Ces technologies sont au service des populations humaines, de leurs activités économiques et de l’environnement pour améliorer durablement le fonctionnement des exploitations et filières agricoles, des systèmes de soins et prévenir les risques climatiques et sanitaires.


En agriculture l’Institut Convergences en Agriculture Numérique #DigitAg rassemble plus de 570 experts issus de 16 partenaires publics et privés et de 29 unités de recherche couvrant le continuum recherche, formation, innovation et développe un partenariat avec l’Afrique. #DigitAg est acteur de l’écosystème MUSE et met en œuvre une recherche interdisciplinaire entre sciences agronomiques, sciences pour l’ingénieur (informatique, mathématiques, électronique, physique), sciences sociales et de gestion (économie, sociologie, gestion).
Concernant la santé qu’elle soit globale, environnementale ou en interaction avec l’environnement au travers des maladies humaines et animales (maladies tropicales, maladies négligées, zoonoses, maladies vectorielles), Montpellier est une place reconnue pour ses recherches en CHU ou dans les institutions de recherche dédiées (INSERM, IRD) ou à vocation transversale (ISDM-UM, Cirad, INRAE) dont la plupart ont une forte activité dans les Sud en particulier en Afrique. Nous débattrons du développement des partenariats et échanges existants en recherche, formation et innovation.

Toutes les conférences sont accessibles à distance

Image de NASA

4 Octobre 8:30 - 17:00
Jour 1: La tête dans les étoiles
Quelles infrastructures pour construire des technologies numériques responsables ?

Session 1:

- Nanosatellites : Technologies et missions (table ronde)

 

Session 2 :

- Les enjeux de la formation pour le spatial (applications, télédétection, communication)

Après- midi : 

Visite de sites (sur invitation)

Image de Rowan Simpson

5 Octobre 9:00 -17:00
Jour 2 : Les pieds sur Terre
Quelles technologies pour nourrir, soigner, protéger ?
 

Session 3 :

Technologies frugales à la ferme et Intelligence logistique et économique des filières agricoles (plateformes, traçabilité et certification de produits, blockchains etc.)

Session 4 :

Gestion des risques climatiques et sanitaires au service des populations humaines et animales(télédétection, proxidétection, veille sanitaires, web crowling, services d'alerte et prédiction agro-météorologique, pollution urbaine, gestion des bio-agresseurs et zoonoses...)

Après- midi : 

Visite de sites (sur invitation)