Image de Yasmine Arfaoui

Living together with Nature to conserve Biodiversity

The coexistence of man with nature is important, even within spaces deemed to be “wild” which are largely inhabited by indigenous peoples. African territories often present a mosaic of natural ecosystems and agroecosystems, and wild animals meet humans there also during their migrations. This has given rise to a co-evolution of certain species with man. To be effective, nature conservation must now take into account these “man, society, nature” links and also promote human well-being.

 

14:00 - 14:20

Domestication and ethnoecology of fig trees: their role for biodiversity

Presenter: Younes Hmimsa (CEFE, Abdelmalek Essaadi University, Morocco / Department of Life Sciences, Polydisciplinary Faculty of Larache)

The fig tree (L.) is an emblematic fruit tree of the Mediterranean in the same way as the olive tree, the vine or the almond tree. Its cultivation is widespread in the Rif mountains where it represents a characteristic element of these traditional agroecosystems. Faced with the important and exceptional varietal diversity of the fig tree, we thus propose to understand the factors favoring the spontaneous / domesticated duality, especially in traditional orchards and to study this coexistence according to the diversity of areas, dialects and uses.

14:20 - 14:50

Animal migration, conservation and ecology, case study of the African elephant.

Presenters: Simon Chamaillé - Jammes 1 , Arnold Tshipa 2 , Adrian Shrader  3 ( by videoconference )

1 Center for Functional and Evolutionary Ecology, CNRS, EPHE, IRD, Univ Paul Valéry Montpellier 3, Montpellier, France.

2 National University of Science and Technology, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe.

3 Mammal Research Institute, University of Pretoria, Pretoria, South Africa.

Migration is a spectacular phenomenon, key for the conservation of many species. We will review the challenges facing migratory ungulates and present the Global Ungulate Migration Initiative. We will summarize the results of a study on elephant migration in a cross-border conservation area in southern Africa, and present a study questioning the sensory ecology of migration in this species.

14:50 - 15:10

The coexistence of Humans and Wildlife in transboundary conservation areas is determined by the integration of conservation, development and human well-being

Presenter: Prisca Mugabe (University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Authors  :  Prisca Mugabe, Alexandre Caron, Edson Gandiwa

1 Institution, Faculty of Agriculture, Environment and Food Systems, University of Zimbabwe

2 Research Platform-Production and Conservation in Partnership

Successful conservation of wildlife on a transboundary scale is not just about protecting biodiversity. People who coexist with wildlife face the challenges and realities of geophysical, social and economic contexts. Wildlife conservation needs to take into account almost all sustainable development goals, the cost of coexistence with wildlife, local and global conservation expectations, experiences, scale, funding and innovation.

15:10 - 16:30

Round table and conclusion: "major biodiversity issues in Africa"

Participants: Prisca Mugabe (University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe), Fabrice DeClerck (Alliance Bioversity-CIAT, Belgium), Christelle Gonmadje (University of Yaounde I, Cameroon), Allassane Ouattara (Nangui Abrogoua University, Côte d'Ivoire) , Anshuman Rana (Sud Expert Program Plantes Développement Durable - SEP2D, IRD, France)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Round table :

The major issues that emerge during the five sessions will be debated with the objective of formulating recommendations for research and collaboration between Africa and France and to contribute to human well-being and the conservation of biodiversity.   

All conferencescan be accessed remotely (after registration)

The experts

Hmimsa2.jpg

Younes Hmimsa

Bio in progress

simon_chamaille.jpg

Simon Chamaillé-Jammes

S. Chamaillé-Jammes is Director of Research at the CNRS, specializing in the study of the behavior and dynamics of populations of large mammals. A. Tshipa is a young Zimbabwean environmentalist and A. Shrader is an assistant professor of animal behavior at the University of Pretoria, South Africa.

arnold_tshipa.jpg

Arnold tshipa

Bio in progress

adrian_shrader.jpg

Adrian shrader

Bio in progress

prisca mugabe.jpg

Prisca mugabe

Deputy Dean of the University of Zimbabwe, Prisca Hazvinei Mugabe holds a Doctorate in Ecology and Range Management (Texas A&M University), an MSc. Grassland Science (University of Reading) and BSc. Agriculture, Animal Sciences (University of Zimbabwe).  

Prisca has devoted decades to university education, research and community outreach on pasture management and assessment, sustainable livelihoods related to pastures and transboundary conservation areas. A passionate communicator, she has published articles intended for various audiences of scientists and practitioners.

Image de Ben Sweet

Fabrice DeClerck

Bio in progress

Image de Meiying Ng

Christelle Gonmadje

Bio in progress

Image de Ben Sweet

Allassane Ouattara

Bio in progress

Image de Ben Sweet

Anshuman Rana

Bio in progress

Image de Yasmine Arfaoui

Vivre ensemble avec la Nature pour conserver la Biodiversité

Pour assister en direct aux tables rondes, suivre ce lien (bientôt actif)

La coexistence de l’homme avec la nature est importante, même au sein d’espaces réputés «sauvages » qui sont largement habités par des peuples autochtones. Les territoires africains présentent souvent une mosaïque d’écosystèmes naturels et d’agroécosystèmes, et les animaux sauvages y rencontrent les humains aussi lors de leurs migrations. Ceci a donné lieu à une co-évolution de certaines espèces avec l’homme. Pour être efficace, la conservation de la nature doit maintenant prendre en compte ces liens « homme, sociétés, nature » et aussi favoriser le bien être humain.

 

14:00 – 14:20

Domestication et ethnoécologie des figuiers : leur rôle pour la biodiversité

Présentateur : Younes Hmimsa (CEFE, Université Abdelmalek Essaadi, Maroc / Département des sciences de la Vie, Faculté Polydisciplinaire de Larache)

Le figuier ( L.) est un arbre fruitier emblématique de la méditerranée au même titre que l’olivier, la vigne ou l’amandier. Sa culture est très répandue dans les montagnes du Rif où il représente un élément caractéristique de ces agroécosystèmes traditionnels. Face à l’importante et l’exceptionnelle diversité variétale du figuier, on propose ainsi de comprendre les facteurs favorisant la dualité spontané / domestiqué, surtout dans les vergers traditionnels et d’étudier cette coexistence en fonction de la diversité des zones, des parlers et des usages.

14:20 – 14:50

Migrations animales, conservation et écologie, cas d'étude de l'éléphant d'Afrique.

Présentateurs : Simon Chamaillé - Jammes 1, Arnold Tshipa 2, Adrian Shrader 3 (en visioconférence)

1 Centre d’Ecologie Fonctionnelle et Evolutive, CNRS, EPHE, IRD, Univ Paul Valéry Montpellier 3, Montpellier, France.

2 National University of Science and Technology, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe.

3 Mammal Research Institute, Université de Pretoria, Pretoria, Afrique du Sud.

La migration est un phénomène spectaculaire, clé pour la conservation de nombreuses espèces. Nous passerons en revue les défis auxquels sont confrontés les ongulés migrateurs et présenterons l'Initiative mondiale pour les migrations des ongulés. Nous résumerons les résultats d'une étude sur la migration des éléphants dans une zone de conservation transfrontalière d'Afrique australe, et présenterons une étude interrogeant l'écologie sensorielle de la migration chez cette espèce.

14:50 – 15:10

La coexistence entre les Humains et la Faune sauvage dans les zones de conservation transfrontalières est déterminée par l'intégration de la conservation, du développement et du bien-être humain

Présentatrice : Prisca Mugabe (Université de Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe)

Auteurs :  Prisca Mugabe, Alexandre Caron, Edson Gandiwa

1 Institution, Faculty of Agriculture, Environment and Food Systems, University of Zimbabwe

2 Research Platform-Production and Conservation in Partnership

Une conservation réussie de la faune sauvage à l'échelle transfrontalière ne se limite pas à la protection de la biodiversité. Les personnes qui coexistent avec la faune sauvage sont confrontées aux défis et aux réalités des contextes géophysiques, sociaux et économiques. La conservation de la faune sauvage doit tenir compte de presque tous les objectifs de développement durable, du coût de la coexistence avec la faune sauvage, des attentes locales et mondiales en matière de conservation, des expériences, de l'échelle, du financement et de l'innovation.

15:10 – 16:30

Table ronde et conclusion : « grands enjeux biodiversité en Afrique »

Participant·e·s : Prisca Mugabe (Université de Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe), Fabrice DeClerck (Alliance Bioversity-CIAT, Belgique), Christelle Gonmadje (Université de Yaounde I, Cameroun), Allassane Ouattara (Université Nangui Abrogoua, Côte d’Ivoire), Anshuman Rana (programme Sud Expert Plantes Développement Durable - SEP2D, IRD, France)

Table ronde :

Les enjeux majeurs qui émergent pendant les cinq sessions seront débattus avec l’objectif de formuler des recommandations pour la recherche et la collaboration entre l’Afrique et La France et pour contribuer au bien-être humain et la conservation de la biodiversité.   

Toutes les conférences sont accessibles à distance (après inscription)

Les experts

Younes Hmimsa

Mr Younes HMIMSA est titulaire d'un doctorat en écologie et biologie végétale, en 2009, de la Faculté des Sciences (Université Abdelmalek Essaadi) de Tétouan (Maroc) en collaboration avec l’Equipe Interactions bio-culturelles du CEFE-CNRST de Montpellier (France). Ethnobotaniste et biologiste, à partir de 2012, il est enseignant chercheur à la Faculté Polydisciplinaire de Larache, et s’intéresse à l’agrobiodiversité, les ressources génétiques et le changement climatique dans les agroécosystèmes traditionnels.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Hmimsa-Younes-2

simon_chamaille.jpg

Simon Chamaillé-Jammes

S. Chamaillé-Jammes est Directeur de Recherche au CNRS, spécialisé dans l'étude du comportement et de la dynamique des populations de grands mammifères. A. Tshipa est un jeune écologiste zimbabwéen et A. Shrader est professeur adjoint en comportement animal à l'université de Pretoria, en Afrique du Sud.

Arnold Tshipa

Bio en cours

adrian_shrader.jpg

Adrian Shrader

Bio en cours

prisca mugabe.jpg

Prisca Mugabe

Doyenne adjointe de l’Université du Zimbabwe, Prisca Hazvinei Mugabe est titulaire d’un Doctorat en écologie et gestion des parcours (Texas A&M University), d’un MSc. Grassland Science (Université de Reading) et BSc. Agriculture, Sciences animales (Université du Zimbabwe). 

Prisca a consacré des décennies à l'enseignement universitaire, à la recherche et à la sensibilisation des communautés à la gestion et à l'évaluation des pâturages, aux moyens de subsistance durables liés aux pâturages et aux zones de conservation transfrontalières. Communicatrice passionnée, elle a publié des articles destinés à divers publics de scientifiques et de praticiens.

Image de Ben Sweet

Fabrice DeClerck

Bio en cours

Image de Meiying Ng

Christelle Gonmadje

Bio en cours

Image de Ben Sweet

Allassane Ouattara

Bio en cours

Image de Ben Sweet

Anshuman Rana

Bio en cours