Image de Eryxson Fonseca

Soil, a poorly understood reservoir of biodiversity

The soil is home to a large number of species of animals and microorganisms, most of which are poorly understood, and therefore numerous interactions. The field school in tropical ecology (ECOTROP) has contributed to the study of soil biodiversity and trained many students in Africa.
ECOTROP is a field school which brings together students and researchers of various origins on the same natural site. The goal of ECOTROP is to train on themes related to the study and conservation of biodiversity.

9:15 - 9:35

Opening of the Montpellier Global Days

by Philippe Augé , president of the University of Montpellier

Welcome and Introduction

Presenters: Rutger de Wit (CNRS), Philippe Jarne (CNRS) & Daniel Barthélémy (Cirad)

9:35 - 9:55

ECOTROP: training a new generation of scientists on biodiversity

Presenter: Stephan Ntie (Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Biology (LABMC), Department of Biology, University of Sciences and Techniques of Masuku (USTM), BP 941, Franceville, Gabon)

Authors: Alban-Michel Nguéma Nguéma, Philippe Legall and Thibaud Decaens.

 

ECOTROP is a field school that trains students in the study and conservation of biodiversity. Each year, 20-30 people come together on the same natural site for two weeks to collect and analyze data. This system has already enabled about twenty students to pursue a doctorate, the production of 14 scientific publications, and several collaborations.

 

9:55 - 10:15

Resistance and resilience of soil biodiversity after tree felling: the case of rubber cultivation in Côte d'Ivoire

Presenter: Aymard K. Kouakou (ARTS, IRD, Eco & Sols scholarship holder)

Authors: Aymard K. Kouakou, Kolo Yeo, Frédéric Gay, Alain Brauman

10:15 - 10:35

Earthworms: an asset for tropical agriculture

Presenter: Onja Ratsiatosika (UMR Functional Ecology and Biogeochemistry of Soils and Agroecosystems, Montpellier, France / Laboratory of Radio-Isotopes, University of Antananarivo, Madagascar)

Earthworms are involved in the ecosystem services provided by the soil. Numerous experiments have shown the positive effect of earthworms on plant production, carbon sequestration and the regulation of pathogens. Biofertilization based on earthworms is a promising alternative for low-input agrosystems in tropical environments.

10:35 - 10:55

Écotrop: springboard for a doctoral thesis

Intervention of Alban-Michel Nguema

(doctoral student in Rennes, ECOTROP, USTM, Gabon)

Authors: Alban-Michel Nguéma Nguéma, Philippe Legall and Thibaud Decaens.

Écotrop was an opportunity for me to meet and work with researchers and students from other institutions on themes that enabled me to pursue my doctoral thesis studies.

Holder of a master's degree in ecology in fundamental research, the Écotrop field school was a practical experience that motivated me for a doctoral thesis. Thus, teamwork with researchers specializing in Invertebrates allowed me to establish and maintain relationships that are still part of my professional network in the world of research today.

Alban-Michel Nguéma from an early age has had the opportunity to regularly visit several regions of his country, Gabon. This aroused in him the desire to get to know the forest better; with a particular interest in the diversity and ecology of Arthropods. Thus, for his doctoral thesis, he is working on the spiders of Gabon.

All conferencescan be accessed remotely (after registration)

The experts

6-Philippe-Jarne-.jpeg

Philippe Jarne

Philippe Jarne is research director at the CNRS, and develops research in evolutionary biology and ecology within the joint research unit Cefe (Center for Functional and Evolutionary Ecology) in Montpellier. He is the leader of the BiodivOc key challenge, funded by the Occitanie region and supported by the University of Montpellier (and around fifteen academic partners), which supports research on biodiversity, from the fundamental to societal implications.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Philippe-Jarne

Daniel-Barthelemy.jpeg

Daniel Bathélémy

Daniel Barthélémy is a botanist specializing in plant architecture and an expert in botany and plant biodiversity, particularly tropical.

From 2001 to 2010, he was deputy director then director of the joint research unit (UMR) “botAnics and bioinforMatics of Plant Architecture” (AMAP). 

He is INRA Research Director and, since 2010, seconded to CIRAD where he served as Scientific Director and of CIRAD's “Biological Systems” (Bios) department until 2018.

Since 2018, he has been in charge of the mission (notably in charge of the “Biodiversity” theme) with the Directorate General of CIRAD and forerunner of the “Agriculture, environment, biodiversity” research center at Isite Muse, University of Montpellier.

Rutger de Wit.jpg

Rutger de Wit

Rutger de Wit began his scientific career as a microbial ecologist and biogeochemist focusing his research on photosynthetic biofilms. As a CNRS researcher, he studied the ecology of coastal ecosystems, and in particular coastal lagoons. Thanks to collaborative research, he gradually broadened his approach from these coastal environments to integrative studies of socio-ecosystems. Since February 2021, he has been Director of LabEx CeMEB.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Rutger-De-Wit

stephan ntié.jpeg

Stephan Ntie

Stephan Ntie is interested in studying the diversity of Central African mammals. To do this, he uses population genetics to better understand diversification processes and associate taxa such as duikers and rodents with different types of forest habitats.

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=fr&as_sdt=0%2C5&q=stephan+ntie&btnG=

Aymard K. KOUAKOU.jpg

Aymard
K. Kouakou

Aymard K. KOUAKOU of Ivorian nationality is a doctoral student (3rd year) at NANGUI ABROGOUA University at the Laboratory of Ecology and Sustainable Development in partnership between IRD (ECO & SOLS, Montpellier). He is interested in soil biodiversity (bacteria, fungi, nematodes, springtails, macrofauna), their ecological interactions and their role in soil functioning.

photo_Onja.jpg

Onja Ratsiatosika

With a doctorate in soil ecology and agronomy, Onja has conducted research on earthworms and ecosystem services in Madagascar.  His research themes focus on agroecology, soil ecology and climate change. Currently, she is a post-doctorate at UMR Eco & Sols.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Onja-Ratsiatosika/research

Alban-Michel NGUÉMA NGUÉMA.jpg

Alban-Michel Nguema

 From an early age, Alban-Michel Nguéma has had the opportunity to regularly visit several regions of his country, Gabon. This aroused in him the desire to get to know the forest better; with a particular interest in the diversity and ecology of Arthropods. Holder of a master's degree in ecology in fundamental research, for his doctoral thesis, he works on the spiders of Gabon.

Image de Eryxson Fonseca

Le sol, un réservoir de biodiversité mal connu

Pour assister en direct aux tables rondes, suivre ce lien (bientôt actif)

Le sol héberge un grand d’espèces d’animaux et de microorganismes, mal connues pour la plupart, et donc des interactions multiplies. L’école de terrain en écologie tropicale (ECOTROP) a contribué à l’étude de la biodiversité des sols et formé beaucoup d’étudiants en Afrique.
ECOTROP est une école de terrain qui réunit sur un même site naturel des étudiants et chercheurs d’origines diverses. Le but d’ECOTROP est de former sur des thématiques liées à l’étude et la conservation de la biodiversité.

9:15 - 9:35

Ouverture des Montpellier Global Days

par Philippe AUGÉ, président de l'Université de Montpellier

Accueil et Introduction

Présentateurs : Rutger de Wit (CNRS), Philippe Jarne (CNRS) & Daniel Barthélémy (Cirad)

9:35 - 9:55

ECOTROP : former une nouvelle génération de scientifiques sur la biodiversité

Présentateur : Stephan Ntie (Laboratoire de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire (LABMC), Département de Biologie, Université des Sciences et Techniques de Masuku (USTM), BP 941, Franceville, Gabon)

Auteurs : Alban-Michel Nguéma Nguéma, Philippe Legall et Thibaud Decaens.

 

ECOTROP est une école de terrain qui forme les étudiants à l’étude et la conservation de la biodiversité. Chaque année, 20-30 personnes sont réunis sur un même site naturel pendant deux semaines pour collecter et analyser des données. Ce dispositif a déjà permis à une vingtaine d’étudiants de poursuivre en doctorat, la production de 14 publications scientifiques, et de plusieurs collaborations.

 

9:55 - 10:15

Résistance et résilience de la biodiversité du sol après abattage des arbres : cas de l’hévéaculture en Côte d’Ivoire

Présentateur : Aymard K. Kouakou (boursier ARTS, IRD, Eco&Sols)

Auteurs : Aymard K. Kouakou, Kolo Yeo, Frédéric Gay, Alain Brauman

10:15 - 10:35

Les vers de terre : un atout pour l'agriculture tropicale

Présentatrice : Onja Ratsiatosika (UMR Ecologie Fonctionnelle et Biogéochimie des Sols et Agroécosystèmes, Montpellier, France / Laboratoire des Radio-Isotopes, Université d’Antananarivo, Madagascar)

Les vers de terre sont impliqués dans les services écosystémiques rendus par le sol. De nombreuses expériences ont montré l’effet positif des vers de terre sur la production végétale, la séquestration de carbone et la régulation des pathogènes. La biofertilisation à base de vers de terre constitue une alternative prometteuse pour les agrosystèmes à bas intrants en milieu tropical.

10:35 - 10:55

Écotrop : tremplin pour une thèse doctorale

Intervention d'Alban-Michel Nguema

(doctorant à Rennes, ECOTROP, USTM, Gabon)

Auteurs : Alban-Michel Nguéma Nguéma, Philippe Legall et Thibaud Decaens.

Écotrop a été l’occasion pour moi de rencontrer et de travailler avec des chercheurs et étudiants d’autres institutions sur des thématiques qui m’ont permis de poursuivre des études en thèse de doctorat.

Titulaire d’un master d’écologie en recherche fondamentale, l’école de terrain Écotrop a été une expérience pratique qui m’a motivé pour une thèse doctorale. Ainsi, le travail en équipe avec des chercheurs spécialistes des Invertébrés m’a permis d’établir et entretenir des relations qui font encore partie aujourd’hui de mon réseau professionnel dans le monde de la recherche.

Alban-Michel Nguéma depuis son plus jeune âge a eu l’opportunité de régulièrement visiter plusieurs régions de son pays, le Gabon. Cela a suscité en lui le désir de mieux connaître la forêt ; avec un intérêt particulier pour la diversité et l’écologie des Arthropodes. Ainsi, pour sa thèse doctorale, il travaille sur les araignées du Gabon.

Toutes les conférences sont accessibles à distance (après inscription)

Les experts

6-Philippe-Jarne-.jpeg

Philippe Jarne

Philippe Jarne est directeur de recherche au CNRS, et développe des recherches en biologie évolutive et écologie au sein de l’unité mixte de recherche Cefe (Centre d’Ecologie Fonctionnelle et Evolutive) à Montpellier. Il est animateur du défi-clé BiodivOc, financé par la région Occitanie et porté par l’Université de Montpellier (et une quinzaine de partenaires académiques), qui soutient des recherches sur la biodiversité, du fondamental aux implications sociétales.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Philippe-Jarne

Daniel-Barthelemy.jpeg

Daniel Bathélémy

Daniel Barthélémy est botaniste spécialiste de l’architecture des plantes et expert en botanique et biodiversité végétale notamment tropicale.

De 2001 à 2010, il a été directeur adjoint puis directeur de l’unité mixte de recherche (UMR) “botAnique et bioinforMatique de l’Architecture des Plantes” (AMAP). 

Il est Directeur de Recherche Inra et depuis 2010, détaché au Cirad où il a exercé la fonction de directeur scientifique et du département «Systèmes Biologiques» (Bios) du Cirad jusqu’en 2018.

Depuis 2018, il est chargé de mission (en charge notamment de la thématique « Biodiversité ») auprès de la Direction Générale du Cirad et préfigurateur du pôle de Recherche « Agriculture, environnement, biodiversité » de l’Isite Muse, Université de Montpellier.

Rutger de Wit

Rutger de Wit a débuté sa carrière scientifique en tant qu'écologiste microbien et biogéochimiste focalisant ses recherches sur les biofilms photosynthétiques. En tant que chercheur CNRS, il a étudié l'écologie des écosystèmes côtiers, et en particulier les lagunes côtières. Grâce à des recherches collaboratives, il a progressivement élargi son approche de ces environnements côtiers vers les études intégratives des socio-écosystèmes . Depuis février 2021, il est Directeur du LabEx CeMEB.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Rutger-De-Wit

Stephan Ntie

Stephan Ntie est intéressé par l’étude de la diversité des mammifères d’Afrique centrale. Pour cela, il utilise la génétique des populations pour mieux comprendre les processus de diversification et associer les taxons tels que les céphalophes et les rongeurs avec les différents types d’habitats forestiers.

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=fr&as_sdt=0%2C5&q=stephan+ntie&btnG=

Aymard
K. Kouakou

Aymard K. KOUAKOU de nationalité ivoirienne est doctorant (3ème année) à l'Université NANGUI ABROGOUA au Laboratoire d'Ecologie et de Développement Durable en partenariat entre l'IRD (ECO&SOLS, Montpellier). Il s'intéresse à la biodiversité du sol (bactéries, champignons, nématodes, collemboles, macrofaune), à leurs interactions écologiques et leur rôle dans le fonctionnement du sol.

Onja Ratsiatosika

Docteure en écologie du sol et en agronomie, Onja a mené des recherches sur les vers de terre et les services écosystémiques à Madagascar.  Ses thématiques de recherche sont axées sur l’agroécologie, l’écologie du sol et le changement climatique. Actuellement, elle est en post-doctorat à l’UMR Eco&Sols.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Onja-Ratsiatosika/research

Alban-Michel Nguema

 Depuis son plus jeune âge, Alban-Michel Nguéma a eu l’opportunité de régulièrement visiter plusieurs régions de son pays, le Gabon. Cela a suscité en lui le désir de mieux connaître la forêt ; avec un intérêt particulier pour la diversité et l’écologie des Arthropodes. Titulaire d’un master d’écologie en recherche fondamentale, pour sa thèse doctorale, il travaille sur les araignées du Gabon.