Silhouette d'éléphant

Forest biodiversity and the impact of deforestation

Tropical rainforests in Africa are particularly renowned for their biodiversity, but other types of forests are also of great value. Deforestation in Africa, a product of economic development, is closely linked to international trade and we can speak of imported deforestation for consuming and importing countries from other continents. However, certain experiences of regeneration and the establishment of agroforestry are however encouraging for the future of these forests.

9:15 - 9:35

The importance of the submontane forests of Central Africa and their value for conservation

Presenter: Christelle Gonmadje ( 1 Department of Plant Biology and Physiology, University of Yaoundé I, Cameroon BP 812, Yaoundé, Cameroon)

Authors: Christelle Gonmadje  1 , Charles Doumenge  2 , Barthélemy Tchiengue  3 and Judicaël Lebamba  4

 

2  CIRAD, Campus International de Baillarguet, TA C-36 / D, F-34398 Montpellier cedex 5, France

3  National Herbarium of Cameroon BP 1601, Yaoundé, Cameroon

4  University of Science and Technology of Masuku, Franceville (Gabon)

In Central Africa, submontane forests represent only 1.2% of plant formations and are still poorly understood. Despite their importance for the conservation of biodiversity and populations, these forests are threatened by deforestation. Hence the need for reliable data to ensure their sustainable management.

The objective is to evaluate the floristic diversity and to estimate the biomass of the submontane forests of South Cameroon.

9:35 - 9:55

The contribution of coffee and cocoa agroforestry systems to the conservation of biodiversity and the fight against climate change in the Littoral and West Cameroon regions

Presenter: Lucie Temgoua (University of Dschang, Faculty of Agronomy and Agricultural Sciences, Department of Forestry.

Woody species conserved or introduced into coffee and cocoa agroforestry systems by helping farmers to diversify their sources of income, make them more resilient and less vulnerable to climate change.

In Cameroon, farmers have mainly oriented their coffee and cocoa production systems towards diversification of production. Many woody species are introduced or conserved there. These species provide a variety of services which, while helping farmers to diversify their income, make them more resilient and less vulnerable to climate change.

9:55 - 10:15

Natural regeneration assisted by farmers in Central Africa to restore their landscapes

Presenter: Arnot Kpolita (UR Forests and Societies, Central African Republic - RCA)

On the outskirts of large urban centers, the impact of human activities has led to the decline of forest formations. To limit this impact, farmers are taught to keep trees in their fields.

Classified in 1950 by the Ministry of Water Forests and Hunting, the Botambi reserve presents three gradients of deforestation and degradation, depending on their increasing distance from the city of Bangui, namely the villages of Talo (savannah landscape), Botéké (landscape very degraded forest, in the process of savanization), and Salanga (forest landscape at the start of degradation). In these villages, farmers were trained in the technique of assisted natural regeneration (a practice which consists of protecting trees in the fields when weeding crops) to enrich their skills.  future fallows and move towards an agroforestry system.

10:15 - 10:35

What definition of forests do we need to fight against imported deforestation?

Presenter: Nicolas Picard (GIP ECOFOR, France)

 

 

 

 

 

 

The import of agricultural commodities is responsible for an important part of deforestation in tropical areas.  

The implementation of local solutions to fight against imported deforestation can be done on the basis of a consensus between local actors of what forests are. However, imported deforestation is a global phenomenon, with long-distance interdependencies between the economies of different countries. Monitoring the impact of solutions to imported deforestation then requires definitions of the forest specified at the country level.

10:35 - 10:55

Articulation between public policies and private mechanisms for the fight against imported deforestation

Presenter: Alain Karsenty (CIRAD, "Environments and Societies" Department, UMR SENS (Knowledge, Environment, Societies), Montpellier, France)

Containing imported deforestation implies criteria for qualifying deforestation, which will not necessarily be those of the countries of origin but which cannot be uniform. Accrediting independent certifications, distinguishing legal and illegal deforestation and putting in place a tax incentive system to promote zero-deforestation productions, would be a realistic option.

10:55 - 11:10

Discussions with the public on zero imported deforestation (conclusions from a conference on imported deforestation)

 

11.30 - 11.50

Study of the dynamics of savannah forests in the context of conservation issues and the implementation of major structures in Central Africa

Presenter: The Benefactor Sagang Tagoukoum (ARTS, AMAP, IRD scholarship holder)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Authors: The Benefactor Takougoum Sagang, Pierre Ploton,  Pierre Couteron, Bonaventure Sonké, Nicolas Barbier.

1 Institute of Agricultural Research for Development (IRAD)

2 Laboratory of Systematic Botany and Ecology (LaBosystE)

3 Institute of Research for Development (IRD)

4 Botany and Architecture Modeling of Plants and Plants (UMR AMAP)

Remote sensing combined with field inventories make it possible to assess the impact of development projects on vegetation, to develop compensation measures and to support the development of protected areas.

We present the case of a dam and a protected area in a forest-savanna transition zone. The Landsat image archives have made it possible to quantify the dynamics of the cover and the fire regime since 1975. The impact of these dynamics on the structure (biomass) and the composition (diversity) of the current vegetation provides information on the plans of conservation / compensation actions to be implemented.

11:50 - 12:10

Use of drone images for the study of the three-dimensional structure of dense humid tropical forests (work on sites in Congo RC and DRC)

Presenter: Jean-Baptiste Ndamiyehe (UR Forêts et Sociétés, doctoral student Univ. De Kisangani, Democratic Republic of Congo - DRC)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Authors: Jean-Baptiste Ndamiyehe, Philippe Lejeune, Gauthier Ligot, Adeline Fayolle, Léopold Ndjele and Sylvie Gourlet-Fleury

Drone remote sensing offers exciting opportunities to gather reliable information on the canopies needed to better understand and manage tropical forest biodiversity by reducing reliance on field inventories.

A better understanding of the structure and dynamics of tropical forests is essential for the planning and management of biodiversity. Traditionally, forest structure and dynamics are described from field inventories which are often expensive and laborious. We are testing the use of 3D images acquired using drones for the characterization of dense forests in Central Africa. In particular, we are evaluating the contribution of these data to better understand and predict tree growth while reducing the need for fieldwork.

12:10 - 12:30

The evolutionary history of African forests through a model genus (the genus Khaya, African mahogany)

Presenter: Gaël Bouka (UR Forests and Societies, Republic of Congo)

 

The study of the genus Khaya (Meliaceae) has made it possible to better understand the speciation events that led to the current structuring of species of this genus and to shed light on the history of African forests. The combination of traditional methods (botany, biogeography) and cutting-edge techniques in plant genetics has made it possible to trace the evolutionary history of African mahogany, thereby shedding light on that of African forests. These results are particularly important for adapting management strategies for heavily exploited and traded species, but also for the conservation of biodiversity and African tropical forests.

All conferencescan be accessed remotely

The experts

Christelle Gonmadje.jpg

Christelle Gonmadje

Christelle is Cameroonian, teacher - researcher at the University of Yaoundé I (Cameroon).

 

She works on issues related to the conservation and sustainable management of Central African forests and climate change: identification of priority areas for biodiversity conservation, forest ecology, biogeography, carbon stocks, etc.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Christelle-Gonmadje-2/publications

image_temgoua_1.jpg

Lucie Temgoua

Lucie Temgoua has been a teacher at the University of Dschang in Cameroon since 2008, her research activities in the field of forest and agroforestry ecosystem management are organized around the analysis of the dynamics of biodiversity and ecosystem services in landscapes. anthropized forest.

https://scholar.google.fr/citations?user=Pd1uOR4AAAAJ&hl=fr

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Lucie-Felicite-Temgoua

https://orcid.org/my-orcid?orcid=0000-0001-9708-0411

Arnot Kpolita.jpg

Arnot Kpolita

Arnot Kpolita is botanical assistant at the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Bangui. He is working on a thesis between the University of Bangui and CIRAD in Montpellier (France). Its theme is: "Floristic diversity and ecological and spatial dynamics of forest resources in agricultural areas south of Bangui, case of the Botambi reserve".

Nicolas Picard.jpg

Nicolas picard

Nicolas Picard heads the public interest group “Forest ecosystems” at the interface between forest sciences, forest management and public policies on forests. This leads him to deal with the various issues concerning forests, both temperate and tropical.

http://www.gip-ecofor.org/

https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5548-9171

Alain Karsenty.jpg

Alain Karsenty

Alain Karsenty, economist, is a researcher at CIRAD. His research focuses on economic instruments for the environment and their implementation in Africa. He is a member of the scientific board of the French Global Environment Fund (FFEM) and of the Board of the Nicolas Hulot Foundation (FNH).

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Alain-Karsenty-2

LeBienfaiteur_Sagang.jpg

Le Bienfaiteur Sagang Tagoukoum

Le Bienfaiteur T. Sagang is a doctoral student in tropical plant ecology with a particular interest in the use of remote sensing for spatial modeling of land use types; the dynamics of cover and monitoring of carbon flows and stocks.

https://orcid.org/0000-0001-8778-3121

JB_Ndamiyehe(1).JPG

Jean-Baptiste Ndamiyehe

Jean-Baptiste Ndamiyehe is carrying out his doctorate in forest ecology and remote sensing with the support of Cifor and under the supervision of scientists from CIRAD, the University of Kisangani and Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech . He also heads a research firm "CAStOR" specializing in mapping and management of natural resources.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Jean-Baptiste-Ndamiyehe

BOUKA Gael 3.jpg

Gaël Bouka

Page under creation

Silhouette d'éléphant

La biodiversité des forêts et l’impact de la déforestation

Pour assister en direct aux tables rondes, suivre ce lien (bientôt actif)

Les forêts tropicales humides en Afrique sont particulièrement renommées pour leur biodiversité, mais d’autres types de forêts représentent aussi une grande valeur. La déforestation en Afrique, produit du développement économique, est très liée au commerce international et on peut parler de déforestation importée pour les pays consommateurs et importateurs des autres continents. Cependant, certaines expériences de régénération et l’implantation d’agroforesterie sont toutefois encourageantes pour l’avenir de ces forêts.

9:15 – 9:35

L’importance des forêts submontagnardes d'Afrique centrale et leur valeur pour la conservation

Présentatrice : Christelle Gonmadje (1 Département de Biologie et Physiologie Végétale, Université de Yaoundé I, Cameroun BP 812, Yaoundé, Cameroun)

Auteurs : Christelle Gonmadje 1, Charles Doumenge 2, Barthélemy Tchiengue 3 et Judicaël Lebamba 4

 

CIRAD, Campus International de Baillarguet, TA C-36/D, F-34398 Montpellier cedex 5, France

Herbier National du Cameroun BP 1601, Yaoundé, Cameroun

Université des Sciences et Techniques de Masuku, Franceville (Gabon)

En Afrique centrale, les forêts submontagnardes ne représentent que 1,2 % des formations végétales et demeurent encore mal connues. Malgré leur importance pour la conservation de la biodiversité et les populations, ces forêts sont menacées par la déforestation. D’où la nécessité d’avoir des données fiables pour assurer leur gestion durable.

L’objectif est d’évaluer la diversité floristique et d’estimer la biomasse des forêts submontagnardes du Sud Cameroun.

9:35 – 9:55

La contribution des systèmes agroforestiers à caféiers et cacaoyers à la conservation de la biodiversité et à la lutte contre les changements climatiques dans les régions du Littoral et de l’Ouest Cameroun

Présentatrice : Lucie Temgoua (Université de Dschang, Faculté d’Agronomie et des Sciences Agricoles, Département de Foresterie.

Les espèces ligneuses conservées ou introduites dans les systèmes agroforestiers Caféiers et Cacaoyers en aidant les agriculteurs à diversifier leurs sources de revenus, les rendent plus résilients et moins vulnérables face au changement climatique.

Au Cameroun les agriculteurs ont principalement orienté leurs systèmes de production de Café et de Cacao vers une diversification de la production. De nombreuses espèces ligneuses y sont introduites ou conservées. Ces espèces fournissent divers services qui, tout en aidant les agriculteurs à diversifier leurs revenus, les rendent plus résilients et moins vulnérables face au changement climatique.

9:55 – 10:15

La régénération naturelle assistée par les agriculteurs d'Afrique centrale pour restaurer leurs paysages

Présentateur : Arnot Kpolita (UR Forêts et Sociétés, République Centrafricaine - RCA)

Á la périphérie des grands centres urbains, l’impact des activités humaines a entrainé le recul des formations forestières. Pour limiter cet impact, les agriculteurs sont initiés à garder des arbres dans leurs champs.

Classée en 1950 par le Ministère des Eaux Forêts et chasse, la réserve de Botambi présente trois gradients de déforestation et dégradation, en fonction de leur distance croissante à la ville de Bangui, à savoir les villages de Talo (paysage savanisé), Botéké (paysage forestier très dégradé, en cours de savanisation), et Salanga (paysage forestier en début de dégradation). Dans ces villages, des agriculteurs ont été formés à la technique de la régénération naturelle assistée (pratique qui consiste à protéger des arbres dans les champs au moment des sarclages des cultures) pour enrichir leurs  futures jachères et évoluer vers un système agroforestier.

10:15 – 10:35

De quelle définition des forêts a-t-on besoin pour lutter contre la déforestation importée ?

Présentateur : Nicolas Picard (GIP ECOFOR, France)

L’importation de commodités agricoles est responsable d’une part importante de la déforestation en zone tropicale. 

La mise en œuvre de solutions locales pour lutter contre la déforestation importée peut se faire sur la base d’un consensus entre acteurs locaux de ce qu’est la forêt. Cependant la déforestation importée est un phénomène mondial, avec des interdépendances à longue distance entre les économies de différents pays. Le suivi de l’impact de solutions à la déforestation importée nécessite alors des définitions de la forêt spécifiées au niveau des pays.

10:35 – 10:55

Articulation entre politiques publiques et mécanismes privés pour la lutte contre la déforestation importée

Présentateur : Alain Karsenty ( CIRAD, Département "Environnements et Sociétés" , UMR SENS (Savoirs, Environnement, Sociétés), Montpellier, France)

Contenir la déforestation importée implique des critères pour qualifier la déforestation, qui ne seront pas forcément ceux des pays d’origine mais qui ne peuvent être uniformes. Accréditer des certifications indépendantes, distinguer déforestation légale et illégale et mettre en place un régime d’incitations fiscales pour favoriser les productions zéro-déforestation, serait une option réaliste.

10:55 – 11:10

Echanges avec le public sur zéro déforestation importée (conclusions issues d’un colloque sur la déforestation importée)

11.30 – 11.50

Etude des dynamiques forêts savanes dans le cadre des problématiques de conservation et de mise en œuvre de grands ouvrages en Afrique Centrale

 

Présentateur : Le Bienfaiteur Sagang Tagoukoum (boursier ARTS, AMAP, IRD)

Auteurs : Le Bienfaiteur Takougoum Sagang, Pierre Ploton,  Pierre Couteron, Bonaventure Sonké, Nicolas Barbier.

1 Institut de Recherche Agricole pour le Développement (IRAD)

2 Laboratoire de Botanique systématique et Écologie (LaBosystE)

3 Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD)

4 Botanique et Modélisation de l’Architecture des Plantes et des végétaux (UMR AMAP)

La télédétection combinée aux inventaires de terrain permettent d’évaluer l’impact de projets de développement sur la végétation, d’élaborer des mesures de compensation et d’appuyer l’aménagement des zones protégées.

Nous présentons le cas d’un barrage et d’une aire protégée en zone de transition forêt-savane. Les archives d’images Landsat ont permis de quantifier les dynamiques du couvert et le régime des feux depuis 1975. L’impact de ces dynamiques sur la structure (biomasse) et la composition (diversité) de la végétation actuelle renseigne sur les plans d’actions de conservation/compensation à implémenter.

11:50 – 12:10

Utilisation d'images drone pour l'étude de la structure tridimensionnelle des forêts denses tropicales humides (travail sur des sites du Congo RC et de RDC)

Présentateur : Jean-Baptiste Ndamiyehe (UR Forêts et Sociétés, doctorant Univ. de Kisangani, République Démocratique du Congo - RDC)

Auteurs : Jean-Baptiste Ndamiyehe, Philippe Lejeune, Gauthier Ligot, Adeline Fayolle, Léopold Ndjele et Sylvie Gourlet-Fleury

La télédétection par drone offre des opportunités intéressantes pour recueillir des informations fiables sur les canopées nécessaires pour mieux comprendre et gérer la biodiversité des forêts tropicales en réduisant la dépendance vis-à-vis des inventaires de terrain.

Mieux comprendre la structure et la dynamique des forêts tropicales est essentiel pour l’aménagement et la gestion de la biodiversité. Traditionnellement, la structure et la dynamique forestières sont décrites à partir des inventaires de terrain qui, souvent, sont coûteux et laborieux. Nous testons l’utilisation des images 3D acquises à l’aide des drones pour la caractérisation des forêts denses en Afrique centrale. Nous évaluons notamment la contribution de ces données pour mieux comprendre et prédire la croissance des arbres tout en réduisant le besoin des travaux de terrain.

12:10 – 12:30

L'histoire évolutive des forêts d'Afrique à travers un genre modèle (le genre Khaya, acajous d'Afrique)

Présentateur : Gaël Bouka (UR Forêts et Sociétés, République du Congo)

 

L’étude du genre Khaya (Meliaceae) a permis de mieux comprendre les événements de spéciation ayant conduit à la structuration actuelle des espèces de ce genre et d’éclairer l’histoire des forêts africaines. La combinaison de méthodes traditionnelles (botanique, biogéographie) et de techniques de pointes en génétique des plantes a permis de retracer l'histoire évolutive des acajous africains, éclairant par là-même celle des forêts d’Afrique. Ces résultats sont particulièrement importants pour adapter les stratégies de gestion des espèces fortement exploitées et commercialisées mais aussi pour la conservation de la biodiversité et des forêts tropicales africaines.

Toutes les conférences sont accessibles à distance

Les experts

Christelle Gonmadje

Christelle est camerounaise, enseignante – chercheure à l’Université de Yaoundé I (Cameroun).

 

Elle travaille sur les questions liées à la conservation et à la gestion durable des forêts d’Afrique centrale et les changements climatiques : identification des zones prioritaires pour la conservation de la biodiversité, écologie forestière, biogéographie, stocks de carbone, etc.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Christelle-Gonmadje-2/publications

Lucie Temgoua

Lucie Temgoua est enseignante à l’Université de Dschang au Cameroun depuis 2008, ses activités de recherche dans le domaine de l’aménagement des écosystèmes forestiers et agroforestiers sont organisées autour de l’analyse de la dynamique de la biodiversité et des services écosystémiques des paysages forestiers anthropisés.

https://scholar.google.fr/citations?user=Pd1uOR4AAAAJ&hl=fr

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Lucie-Felicite-Temgoua

https://orcid.org/my-orcid?orcid=0000-0001-9708-0411

Arnot Kpolita

Arnot Kpolita est assistant de botanique à la Faculté des Sciences de l’Université de Bangui. Il fait une thèse en alternance entre l’Université de Bangui et le CIRAD de Montpellier (France). Son thème est : «Diversité floristique et dynamique écologique et spatiale des ressources forestières dans les zones agricoles du sud de Bangui, cas de la réserve de Botambi».

Nicolas Picard.jpg

Nicolas Picard

Nicolas Picard dirige le groupement d’intérêt public « Écosystèmes forestiers » à l’interface entre sciences forestières, gestion forestière et politiques publiques sur les forêts. Cela l’amène à traiter des différents enjeux concernant les forêts, aussi bien tempérées que tropicales.

http://www.gip-ecofor.org/

https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5548-9171

Alain Karsenty.jpg

Alain Karsenty

Alain Karsenty, économiste, est chercheur au Cirad. Ses recherches portent sur les instruments économiques pour l'environnement et leur mise en œuvre en Afrique. Il est membre du conseil scientifique du Fonds Français pour l’Environnement Mondial (FFEM) et du CS de la Fondation Nicolas Hulot (FNH).

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Alain-Karsenty-2

Le Bienfaiteur Sagang Tagoukoum

Le Bienfaiteur T. Sagang est doctorant en écologie végétale tropicale avec un intérêt particulier sur l’utilisation de la télédétection pour la modélisation spatiale des types d’occupation du sol ; de la dynamique du couvert et du suivi des flux et stocks de carbone.

https://orcid.org/0000-0001-8778-3121

JB_Ndamiyehe(1).JPG

Jean-Baptiste Ndamiyehe

Jean-Baptiste Ndamiyehe mène son doctorat en écologie forestière et en télédétection avec l’appui du Cifor et sous la supervision des scientifiques du Cirad, de l'Université de Kisangani et de Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech. Il dirige également un cabinet d’études « CAStOR » spécialisé en cartographie et en aménagement des ressources naturelles.

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Jean-Baptiste-Ndamiyehe

Gaël Bouka

Gaël Bouka est un jeune enseignant-chercheur congolais, maître assistant à l'Université Marien Ngouabi. Il est titulaire d'un master international en Biodiversité et environnement des végétaux tropicaux de l’UPMC et du MNHN (Paris) et d’un doctorat en Botanique et écologie, obtenu en co-tutelle entre l’Université de Montpellier et l’Université Marien Ngouabi. Il poursuit des recherches sur la structuration de la biodiversité des forêts africaines en vue de leur conservation et gestion durable.