Download the Biodiversity program

The African continent is particularly rich in biodiversity which is however strongly threatened by human activities, both directly (for example, deforestation, urbanization, overexploitation of ecosystems) and indirectly by climate change. This is an important research subject for MUSE in Montpellier, for which its research units collaborate closely with their partners from different African countries. During these thematic days, studies on emblematic species and ecosystems of Africa (for example, the African elephant, tropical rainforests, savannas) will be presented by its African partners, while its biodiversity less known, such as life in water and soil, will also be discussed. The presentations will focus on the role of biodiversity both for the functioning of wild ecosystems and for agroecology. Biodiversity is not limited to so-called wild areas, where most reserves have been created in the past, sometimes to the detriment of indigenous populations. The coexistence between humans and biodiversity will be addressed in the difficult context of integrating conservation, sustainable development and human well-being. It also raises important questions about the impact of international relations and trade on biodiversity in Africa. Its conservation obviously also depends on equity and therefore comes under ecological solidarity at the global level.

All conferences will be accessible remotely 

Image de elizabeth lies

October 4 - 9:30 am - 11:00 am
Soil, a poorly understood reservoir of biodiversity

 

The soil is the site of a very large number of interactions, among species of invertebrates and microorganisms, most of which are poorly known. The Tropical Ecology Field School (ECOTROP) has contributed to the study of soil biodiversity and trained many students in Africa.

Image de Stephan Louis

October 4 11:25 AM - 3:20 PM
Life in the water (lakes, lagoons, the coast and the sea)

 

Along the aquatic continuum, from the sources of rivers and their courses, through freshwater lakes and wetlands to the seas and oceans, aquatic ecosystems are highly connected to each other and are all subject to human impacts. 

Image de Evans Amoah

October 4 4:10 pm - 5:00 pm?
Evolution of biodiversity over time - how the environment and the organisms have changed?

Paleontology and evolutionary history have provided insight into how the African environment has changed in the past and how organisms have adapted to it. This knowledge allows a prospective approach to predict risks and highlight the challenges of adapting organisms to ongoing climate change.

 

Image de Mike Arney

October 5 - 9:30 am - 11:00 am
Forest biodiversity and the impact of deforestation

 

The tropical rainforests in Africa are particularly renowned for their biodiversity, but other types of forests are also of great value. Deforestation in Africa in connection with economic development is also very much linked to international trade and we can speak of imported deforestation for consumer and importer countries of other continents. In addition to significant deforestation, some experiences of regeneration and the establishment of agroforestry are however encouraging.

Image de Mohammad Yearuzzaman

October 5 2:00 PM - 4:10 PM
Living together with Nature to conserve Biodiversity

 

The coexistence of man with nature is important even within wilderness areas where indigenous peoples often live. In addition, many of the African territories often present a mosaic of natural ecosystems, mixed with agroecosystems, whereas animals also meet humans during their migrations. This has led to a co-evolution of some species with humans. To be effective today, nature conservation must take into account these human-society-nature links and also promote human well-being.

Image de Damian Patkowski

October 5 16:10 - 17:00?
Round table :
The major biodiversity issues in Africa
 

The major issues that emerge during the five sessions will be discussed with the objective of formulating recommendations for research and collaboration between Africa and France to contribute to human well-being and biodiversity conservation.

Télécharger le programme Biodiversité

Le continent africain est particulièrement riche en biodiversité qui est cependant fortement menacée par les activités humaines, à la fois directement (par exemple, déforestation, urbanisation, surexploitation des écosystèmes) et indirectement par le changement climatique. C'est un sujet de recherche important pour MUSE à Montpellier, pour lequel ses unités de recherche collaborent étroitement avec leurs partenaires de différents pays d'Afrique. Au cours de ces journées thématiques, des études sur des espèces et des écosystèmes emblématiques de l'Afrique (par exemple, l'éléphant d'Afrique, les forêts tropicales humides, les savanes) seront présentées par ses partenaires africains, tandis que sa biodiversité moins connue, comme la vie dans l'eau et les sols, sera également abordée. Les présentations mettront l'accent sur le rôle de la biodiversité tant pour le fonctionnement des écosystèmes sauvages que pour l'agroécologie. La biodiversité ne se limite pas aux zones dites sauvages, où la plupart des réserves ont été créées par le passé, parfois au détriment des populations autochtones. La coexistence entre les humains et la biodiversité sera abordée dans le contexte difficile de l'intégration de la conservation, du développement durable et du bien-être humain. Cela soulève également des questions importantes sur l'impact des relations et du commerce internationaux sur la biodiversité en Afrique. Sa conservation dépend évidemment aussi de l'équité et relève donc de la solidarité écologique au niveau mondial.

Toutes les conférences seront accessibles à distance 

Image de elizabeth lies

4 octobre - 9:15 - 11:25
Session 1
Le sol un réservoir de biodiversité mal connu

 

Le sol héberge un grand d’espèces d’animaux et de microorganismes, mal connues pour la plupart, et donc des interactions multiplies. L’école de terrain en écologie tropicale (ECOTROP) a contribué à l’étude de la biodiversité des sols et formé beaucoup d’étudiants en Afrique.

Image de Stephan Louis

4 octobre 11:25 - 15:20
Session 2
La vie dans l’eau (lacs, lagunes, le littoral et la mer)

 

Le long d’un continuum aquatique, des sources des rivières à leurs embouchures, en passant par les lacs d’eau douce et les zones humides pour arriver aux mers et aux océans, les écosystèmes aquatiques sont fortement connectés entre eux et subissent fortement les impacts humains.  

Image de Evans Amoah

4 octobre 16:10 - 16:30
Session 3
Evolution de la biodiversité dans le temps - comment les milieux et les organismes ont-ils changé ?

La paléontologie et l’histoire évolutive ont permis de comprendre comment l’environnement africain a changé dans le passé et comment les organismes s’y sont adaptés. Ces connaissances permettent une approche prospective pour prédire les risques et mettre en évidence les enjeux d’adaptation des organismes aux changements climatiques en cours.

Image de Mike Arney

5 octobre - 9:15 - 12:30
Session 4
La biodiversité des forêts et l’impact de la déforestation
 

Les forêts tropicales humides en Afrique sont particulièrement renommées pour leur biodiversité, mais d’autres types de forêts représentent aussi une grande valeur. La déforestation en Afrique, produit du développement économique, est très liée au commerce international et on peut parler de déforestation importée pour les pays consommateurs et importateurs des autres continents. Cependant, certaines expériences de régénération et l’implantation d’agroforesterie sont toutefois encourageantes pour l’avenir de ces forêts.

Image de Mohammad Yearuzzaman

5 octobre 14:00 - 15:10
Session 5
Vivre ensemble avec la Nature pour conserver la Biodiversité
 

La coexistence de l’homme avec la nature est importante, même au sein d’espaces sauvages réputés « sauvages » qui sont largement habités par des peuples autochtones. Les territoires africains présentent souvent une mosaïque d’écosystèmes naturels et d’agroécosystèmes, et les animaux sauvages y rencontrent les humains aussi lors de leurs migrations. Ceci a donné lieu à une co-évolution de certaines espèces avec l’homme. Pour être efficace, la conservation de la nature doit maintenant prendre en compte ces liens « homme, sociétés, nature » et aussi favoriser le bien être humain.

Image de Damian Patkowski

5 octobre 15:10 - 16:30
Conclusion
Table ronde :
Les grands enjeux biodiversité en Afrique 

Les enjeux majeurs qui émergent pendant les cinq sessions seront débattus avec l’objectif de formuler des recommandations pour la recherche et la collaboration entre l’Afrique et La France et pour contribuer au bien-être humain et la conservation de la biodiversité.